Team preview: North Texas

Blue Ribbon Illustrated previews the 2004-05 college football season, exclusively on Insider.

Originally Published: July 28, 2004
Blue Ribbon Yearbook
Editor's Note: Insider has teamed with Blue Ribbon College Football Yearbook to provide a comprehensive look at all 117 Division I-A teams. To subscribe to Insider, click here. To order a copy of the 384-page book, visit


In the first three years of its existence, the Sun Belt Football Conference has awarded its coach-of-the-year award to only one person -- North Texas coach Darrell Dickey. Don't bet against Dickey walking away with the prestigious honor once again in 2004.

Dickey returns eight offensive starters -- including Patrick Cobbs, the nation's leading rusher in 2003 -- and six defensive starters, along with his punter and place-kicker, from the Mean Green squad that went 9-4 overall and 7-0 in the league.

Under Dickey's guidance, North Texas has won 18 straight Sun Belt games, which is tied for the longest conference winning streak in the nation.