Pony Express returns to ride again

February, 16, 2010
Eric Dickerson and Craig James, SMU's famous backfield duo during the heady Pony Express days from 1979-82, will jointly accept the PricewaterhouseCoopers Doak Walker Legends Award at the Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet Friday night at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas.
Getty ImagesEric Dickerson, along with Craig James, combined to form SMU's famous backfield duo, the "Pony Express."

Dickerson and James join a prestigious list of recipients which includes Calvin Hill (2008), Marcus Allen (2007), Walter Payton (2006), Jim Swink (2005), John David Crow (2004), Doc Blanchard and Glenn Davis (2003), Earl Campbell (2002), Tony Dorsett (2001), Pete Dawkins (2000), Archie Griffin (1999) and Gale Sayers (1998).

Accepting the 2009 Doak Walker Award will be hard-nosed Stanford running back Toby Gerhart. The Heisman Trophy finalist beat out Clemson's C.J. Spiller and fellow Heisman finalist Mark Ingram of Alabama for the Doak. Gerhart rushed for more than 1,800 yards and posted 11 games of more than 100 yards.

From 1979-82, teammates Dickerson and James, collectively known as the "Pony Express", led SMU to national prominence. In their careers, they combined for 8,192 rushing yards and 70 rushing touchdowns which remains a NCAA career record for a duo. They led SMU to national championships in 1981 and 1982.

Dickerson was a two-time All-America choice for SMU and finished third in the 1982 Heisman voting. He is SMU's career and single-season rushing record holder. Dickerson went on to an 11-year NFL career where he was voted All-Pro six times and established the current NFL rushing record when he ran for an astonishing 2,105 yards in 1984. He was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1999.

James was a three-time All-Southwest Conference selection at SMU and ranks third on SMU's all-time rushing list. James was the first player in the Southwest Conference since 1951 to be voted All-Conference at two positions (running back and punter). He went on to a productive professional career with the New England Patriots, where he was the NFL's Offensive Player of the Year in 1985 and voted to the Pro Bowl in 1986.



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?


Fitzsimmons and Durrett: OSU scandal

Part 2 of the articles on OSU's involvment in academic fraud was released. Some claim the expose is unfounded. Ian and Richard warn that there are two sides to all stories.

Fitzsimmons & Durrett: Longhorns talk

Fitzsimmons and Durrett discuss Mack Brown, Manny Diaz and all the latest with the Texas Longhorns.

Fitzsimmons & Durrett: Barkley on Manziel

Fitzsimmons and Durrett give you the latest on the Johnny Manziel story and Charles Barkley weighs in. You won't believe who the outspoken NBA Hall of Famer is disappointed in and what he thinks about the autograph allegations.

Fitzsimmons & Durrett: Kirk Herbstreit

Kirk Herbstreit joins Fitzsimmons and Durrett for his weekly visit to preview the 2013 college football season.

Fitzsimmons & Durrett: Andy Dalton

Former TCU and current Bengals quarterback Andy Dalton joins Fitzsimmons and Durrett to discuss the expectations for the Bengals this season, give a prediction for the TCU-LSU game and talk about what it's like having the Hard Knocks cameras follow him.

Galloway and Company: Manziel talk

Randy Galloway, Matt Mosley, and Mark Friedman react to Dez Bryant's comments regarding the NCAA's ongoing investigation of Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel.

Fitzsimmons and Durrett: Dez Bryant sounds off

Richard Durrett, Ian Fitzsimmons and Glenn "Stretch" Smith react to Dez Bryant sounding off yesterday after practice about Johnny Manziel and the shadiness of the NCAA.

Fitzsimmons and Durrett: Dan Beebe

Former NCAA investigator and Big 12 commissioner Dan Beebe joins Fitzsimmons and Durrett to weigh in on the Johnny Manziel drama and give some insight as to what goes on during an NCAA investigation.